Graphics with Processing

When I like to visualize data, I am mostly using the gglot2 library in R. My impression is that this package provides the most advance data visualization environment in R. But there is one thing, that you can’t do with ggplot2: Creating interactive graphics.

If I need an interactive graphic, Processing is my choice. Processing is a dialect of Java and provides a (simple) programming environment for creating data visualizations. The cool thing about Processing is that you can display your interactive graphics on a website using the JavaScript library processing.js and the HTML5 canvas-tag.

There is a fair number of tutorials in the web. I recommend to get your hands on Visualizing Data written by one of the developers of Processing, Ben Fry. It has some where useful examples and is written super accesible.

Other tutorials I found useful:

There is one thing, that took me a while to recognize: If you use processing.js you need to put the processing code inside the html body-tag! If it is outside (in the head-tag), it won’t work.

Leave a Reply

